What Is the Precall Self-Check?

This article describes the screen that will be presented to the host when entering their video call.

Last Updated: November 2022

Note: The Precall Self-Check will only be presented to the host of the video call when they enter the video call. The guest of the video call will be presented with the Device Check feature instead.

On this page:

  1. What is the Precall Self-Check?
  2. More support options

What is the Precall Self-Check?

When the host joins their video call, they will see a screen that allows them to check their camera and microphone when the call window loads up and prior to entering the call itself.

This screen acts as a final opportunity to make sure that your camera and microphone are working correctly and that everything that is captured in your camera frame or video feed is exactly what you want to show to your guest.

You can tell that your camera is working when you can see yourself. Similarly, you can tell that your microphone is working by speaking and seeing the green speaker indicator moving.

On this screen, you can also mute your microphone, turn your camera off, or switch cameras (if multiple cameras are detected) prior to entering your video call.

Tip: If your web browser has blocked access to your camera and/or microphone, you may be presented with the following screen instead:

If this is the case, please follow the instructions here to fix the issue.


More support options

You have completed another Coviu help article. You now know about the Precall Self-Check.

If this is not what you were looking for, explore our knowledge base and search for another article from here.

If you still require any assistance, please do not hesitate to get in touch with our friendly Customer Success team using any of the contact methods available here.